Todd Nelson
May 20, 2023

--

So many other connections that you could have added. The degraded soil health means less sequestered carbon. Farmers then apply synthetic fertilizer in order to get profitable crop yields. But it's not profitable, so the government subsidizes them. On and on...
I grew up in Michigan where there were once tallgrass prairies and bison (I never knew until recently). Now I live in California, where the "golden season" is actually invasive plant species that are only green in the winter, then become a fire hazard all summer (because of degraded soil health, again).
Your article reminded me of "Kiss the Ground" which left me mildly optimistic. As did your article. Thank you!

--

--

Todd Nelson

Engineer, sustainability, indigenous history, analog electronics history and anything that supports my belief that bikes can save the world.